Coming of Age

Salutations!

As I was writing this blog, I realized episode 4, a cutie-mark themed episode, would fit quite nicely with this topic, and I figured I would post it for that. That was purely coincidental.

I realize the cutie mark topic has been touched upon quite a few times, but there is one aspect I did not mention before: not everypony discovers what their talents are until adulthood, or if ever at all. But the initial expectancy of finding your talent and earning your cutie mark is at a very young age.

I can speak from experience of how it felt to be expected, but never knowing my true talents or passions. For years I had a Super-Sticky Sticker brand of sticker on my flank, one of a teddy bear, because I thought that my talent was with little ones, yet I grew to feel otherwise, as I was not truly a natural with little foals and fillies, and I eventually dreaded having to be around most of them. But I never earned my cutie mark there. It wasn’t until recently that the truth came out: Ledger and I went to a place really far away called “Ponyville” and I just so happened to earn my cutie mark there, and where I learned where my one true passion lay. I tried a lot of things there to find my true talent, but none of those things worked. But while there, I was attentive to the needs of little animals. Ledger was the one who helped me realize my talents. A big earnest thank you to you, Ledger. It was around then that I earned my cutie mark: a paw print with a heart inside. I wear it proudly. I am happy to say that being around little foals and fillies no longer bothers me, and they have become enjoyable, but I know they aren’t part of my talent or passion.

I would actually like to see an adult pony without a cutie mark in the show, at least for the sake of the Cutie Mark Crusaders, that they don’t need to rush finding theirs, or that they could help that pony earn their cutie mark, and realize that the CMC could take on a new mission helping blank flanks find their cutie marks…and eventually their own. It might be a little discouraging to them to meet an adult pony with a blank flank, in retrospect…

Let’s face it…tons of ponies go through life trying to figure out what they’re good at and what they love, but not in foalhood. In foalhood, there’s a lot of career options a young pony wants to do, but never pursue them and lose interest. Young adult ponies change their minds about their future all the time. Middle-aged ponies go through a crisis partially because of uncertainty of their career choices. While cutie marks are not directly related to one’s career choice, one doesn’t want to work at a job and hate it. It’s important to do what you like to do. Otherwise, you’ll go through your whole life feeling somewhat inwardly bitter and regretting you didn’t go out and do what you loved.

So to sum up, ponies learn about themselves at different rates, and there’s no shame in being slow…

Leave a comment